What is the name of the suns surface layer

what is the name of the suns surface layer

What Are The Layers Of The Sun?

The layers of the Sun are divided into two larger groups, the outer and the inner layers. The outer layers are the Corona, the Transition Region, the Chromosphere, and the Photosphere, while the inner layers are the Core, the Radiative Zone, and the Convection Zone. Nov 07,  · The suns first is called the Photosphere.

There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

Look at my Source and keep scrolling down till you see the Diagram. The Corona is the Rays, its right under the Corona. Become a respected expert in our forums. Share your tne with our members and also gain knowledge from them. Trending News.

Woman donated billions, then the what is the one world trade center used for appeared. Gronk sets crazy world record ahead of spring game. Explosion at gender reveal party surafce several towns.

Danger lurks for growing number of delivery drivers. Alabama gov. Black man shot by deputy after calling for help. Experts: Putin used poison to send world a message. How Alex Smith changed college football forever. The WWE career fhe never should have happened'. Why sports are better when blue bloods are winning. Doctor's Chauvin trial testimony oc scrutiny.

It has 11 letters in the word and it is only one word. Answer Save. Im Positive!! Niyra T. The suns first is called the Photosphere. Bob S. Crazy in Puerto Rico It is called Photosphere. Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.

Navigation menu

Chromosphere - The chromosphere is a layer in the Sun between about miles ( km) and miles ( km) above the solar surface (the photosphere).Author: Holly Zell. Jun 13,  · The convection zone is a thick layer starting at around 70% from the sun’s radius that gets mixed with the outer surface at the other end (the photosphere). the photosphere (the visible surface of the Sun), the chromosphere (an irregular layer above the photosphere where the temperature rises from °C to about 20,°C), a transition region (a thin and very irregular layer of the Sun's atmosphere that separates the .

Like every star, the sun is a celestial body containing an enormous ball of extremely hot gases that powers the entire universe.

The sun is the largest object of our solar system, making up over Carbon, nitrogen and oxygen make up 1. Unlike earth, the sun does not have a solid surface or continents, nor does it have a solid core. However, it does have a series of layers similar to an onion. The sun has seven different layers, which are further divided into three inner and four outer layers.

The names of these layers, in order of their presence from the core of the sun are as follows:. It forms the regions on or around the central core that acts as the energy-generating center of the sun. The parts of the inner layer are:. It is the innermost layer of the sun, which is extremely dense where nuclear fusion generates energy in terms of photons by converting hydrogen into helium. Found above the core and is less dense compared to it. The high density of matter in this region allows light energy to travel slowly in a zigzag path, encountering particle on its way, thus causing it to change direction and lose some energy.

Found above the radiative zone, it is the last layer of the solar interior. It helps to transport energy from the edge of the radiative zone to the surface through giant convection cells, similar to a pot of boiling oatmeal. It forms the atmosphere of the sun. There are four layers here:. It is the deepest layer of the solar atmosphere that we usually see from earth covering a distance of about km from the center of the solar disk. Due to its low density, it is relatively transparent, resulting in the photosphere being regarded as the visual surface of the sun.

Practically all the solar energy that reaches the earth is found to be radiated from this layer. It is thus considered the coolest layer of the sun. The photosphere under close observation exhibits a mottled appearance that is called granulation. It is found above the photosphere at a distance between km to km above the solar surface.

The temperature of chromosphere gets hotter as we go further away from the sun. Due to its high temperature hydrogen emits light that gives off a reddish color, known as H-alpha emission. A narrow region covering a thickness of about km between the chromosphere and the next adjacent layer called the corona. The temperature in this region is also found to increase sharply as we move further away from the core and hence the name transition region.

It is the hottest part of the solar atmosphere. Article was last reviewed on Wednesday, August 5, Your email address will not be published. Save my name, email, and website in this browser for the next time I comment. All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited.

Layers of the Sun. The parts of the inner layer are: 1. There are four layers here: 1. How are astronomers able to explore the layers of the sun below the photosphere? Related articles Parts of a Volcano. Parts of a Comet. Layers of the Ocean. Greenhouse Effect. Leave a Reply Cancel reply Your email address will not be published. Popular Articles Types of Volcanoes. Layers of The Earth. Rock Cycle. Related Worksheets None Found. About Us Contact Us.

More articles in this category:
<- How to do a tax return nz - How to make onion rings batter->

0 thoughts on “What is the name of the suns surface layer

Add a comment

Your email will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top